The Indian Administrative Service (IAS)(Hindi : भारतीय प्रशासनिक सेवा) is an administrative All-India service. It is considered to be one of the two premier civil services of India, because candidates, if appointed to the IAS becomes ineligible to reappear in Civil Services Examination. Below is the complete list of the services / posts / jobs available through the UPSC civil service examination conducted every calendar year.Since the exam is a single window entry to the numerous services under various categories, it gets allotted as per the merit list ranking based on your final score. Once you are allotted a service you will occupy various posts under that service alone, unless in some cases you go on a deputation to another department and in other service.Promotions in the civil services are usually time bound but orders are dependant on the state or central government’s clearance of the file. However,even if it may get delayed, you will get your salary arrears for that promotion from the notified date.

Group A Services

  1. Indian Administrative Service
  2. Indian Foreign Service
  3. Indian Police Service
  4. Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service
  5. Indian Audit and Accounts Service
  6. Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise)
  7. Indian Defence Accounts Service
  8. Indian Revenue Service (I.T.)
  9. Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Assistant Works Manager, Administration)
  10. Indian Postal Service
  11. Indian Civil Accounts Service
  12. Indian Railway Traffic Service
  13. Indian Railway Accounts Service
  14. Indian Railway Personnel Service
  15. Indian Railway Protection Force (Assistant Security Commissioner)
  16. Indian Defence Estates Service
  17. Indian Information Service (Junior Grade)
  18. Indian Trade Service, Group ‘A’ (Gr. III)
  19. Indian Corporate Law Service

Group – B Services

  1. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service (Section Officer’s Grade)
  2. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service
  3. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service
  4. Pondicherry Civil Service
  5. Pondicherry Police Service

Indian Forest Service – A combined Preliminary examination is held for Indian Forest Service and Indian Civil Services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *